in Club

The East Anglian Cross Country League (EACCL) is a series of 10 cross country races, hosted on Wednesday afternoons at different locations. The series is hosted by Jude Durrant and Bobbie Sauerzapf, with help from local clubs and hosts. The series is a great way to visit different locations around Norfolk and Suffolk and take on some tough (but ultimately rewarding) cross country running. Expect plenty of muddy trails, grassy routes and woodland running.

The provisional 2017/2018 locations and dates are:

  • Race 1: West Runton Beach, NR27 9QP - 18th October 2017
  • Race 2: Whitlingham Country Park - 8th November 2017
  • Race 3: Fritton Outdoor Centre, NR31 9HA, 22nd November 2017
  • Race 4: Whitwell Station, NR10 4GA - 13th December 2017
  • Race 5: Shouldham Warren, PE33 0DQ, 10th January 2018
  • Race 6: UEA, NR4 7TJ, 24th January 2018
  • Race 7: Thetford Rugby Club, IP24 1LZ, 7th February 2018
  • Race 8: Chilton Fields, IP14 1SZ, 21st February 2018
  • Race 9: Nowton Country Park, IP29 5BD - 7th March 2018
  • Race 10 & Presentations: Catton Park, NR6 7DB - 21st March 2018

The distances vary depending on the course, though typically men cover 10k and ladies cover 5k, with all races starting at 2.30pm.

Points are awarded based upon your finishing position, so 1st place gets 150 points, 2nd place 149 points etc. You need a minimum of 8 appearances to be in the running to pick up a prize at the end of the season. Your best 8 races are added together for your series total.

There are team and individual awards, presented at the last race.

The Norwich Road Runners has paid for an NRR Team, so these events are free to club members. All you need to do is turn up in your NRR vest, ready to run. Be sure to sign the disclaimer on your first race!

Races are not timed, but results are recorded by finishing position and added to Power of 10, with individual race results and series rankings made available before the next race in the series.

For more information, please visit the EACCL Website, or join their Facebook Group.